Qbasicnews.com
May 26, 2018, 02:42:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: FreeBASIC Package Downloader and Installer  (Read 16004 times)
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« on: April 18, 2005, 02:51:28 PM »

As a few know Zap and I have been working on this for a few days now.

The question was raised in some topic about packages for FB, so you dont have to download the full 3MB file, when yo wont use 90% of the included libraries anyways.

So we got to work, and heres some screenshots of the WIP:




It's made in VB, ya, I know.. but neither me nor Zap feelt like messing with GUI in FB Tongue
Logged
Antoni Gual
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1434



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2005, 03:26:49 PM »

:roll:
VB? You will have to set up partial downloads for the downloader!! Cheesy
Logged

Antoni
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2005, 03:29:36 PM »

Well, the exe is kind of big, ~150 or so KB

And it does require the VB runtimes.


Guess we should make it in FB, using GTK+, who wants to DL 30mb runtimes?
Good, you do it ^_^


Besides, most people have the vb runtimes, if not.. well, no problem, they will be downloaded if needed Wink
Logged
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2005, 03:31:00 PM »

Anyone who doesn't have the VS98 runtimes in this day and age is a moron. You hear me? A MORON.
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
MystikShadows
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 542



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2005, 04:27:46 PM »

How do I change my name in this forum?  I need to change it to. "A Moron!"  

LOLOL

well I got VB6 so the runtime is part of it..but I don't have the runtime that you can download...does that count? LOL
Logged

hen they say it can't be done, THAT's when they call me ;-).




need hosting:  http://www.jc-hosting.net
All about ASCII: http://www.ascii-world.com
Antoni Gual
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1434



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2005, 05:00:18 PM »

OK, I was joking in my previous message, it was directed to Z!re and I expect Zire understood it.

Great work, Zire & Zap! I'll download it, of course!!



Ado: We had our (good) fun in another thread some months ago... Can we forget it?

BTW: I have checked and I have VB5 and VB6 runtimes... Checked too moron in the dictionnary... Uh?  Cheesy
Logged

Antoni
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2005, 11:23:30 PM »

:lol:  :lol:  :lol:

The fun never dies. Smiley
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
KiZ
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2879


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2005, 11:16:15 AM »

I would recommend making the buttons bigger =) Nothing is worse than tiny buttons that are missable.

Looks good otherwise  Smiley
Logged
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2005, 11:31:20 AM »

Ok, bigger buttons coming up.


EDIT: Overrules, bigger buttons look like crap.
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2005, 11:49:57 AM »

Buttons look good Cheesy

HOWEVER (sorry to say this):

Button size is optimal if the text just fits in the dotted rectangle when it's selected. Just a matter of taste usually though, and moreover, this is just a (irrelevant) detail.
Logged
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2005, 11:55:05 AM »

The buttons are smaller than the accepted standard.
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
ShadowWolf
Wandering Guru
***
Posts: 389



« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2005, 12:54:29 PM »

i think the button size give the downloader a cool sleak look
Logged
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2005, 05:11:36 PM »

I think it gives it an amateurish, unpolished look. If you want cool and sleek, don't use command buttons in the first place...learn to cleverly use labels.
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
KiZ
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2879


WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2005, 12:03:44 PM »

Quote from: "adosorken"
I think it gives it an amateurish, unpolished look.


Just what I was thinking. Standard size buttons would really help it look more official/professional.
Logged
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2005, 12:07:47 PM »

We have changed the buttonsize.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!