Qbasicnews.com
January 22, 2022, 08:57:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1 thing I wanna know before I start using FB  (Read 4285 times)
KoVeNaNT
Member
*
Posts: 36


« on: April 11, 2005, 10:12:05 AM »

I've heard that FreeBASIC has an amazing sound library... Does it work WITHOUT the VDM thingy? :roll:
Logged
barok
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1727


How about a tasty lead sandwich?


« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 10:39:37 AM »

True.  You have your choices of Bass.dll, FMOD.dll, directsound and OPENAL.dll.  There might be a few more things i can't name off the top of my head.
Logged

Jumping Jahoolipers!
lillo
Guru
**
Posts: 269


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 10:58:37 AM »

VDM is soundblaster emulation subsystem for DOS windows under Win2K/XP. Basically it lets old DOS apps "see" your sound card as a soundblaster.
This is not needed by FB as FB is a 32bit compiler that produces 32bit native Win32 programs. An FB app can directly use DirectSound for example.
FMOD, BASS and OpenAL are modern libs usually used by C apps, that FB apps can use natively being 32bit Win32 apps.
Logged

ngelo Mottola - EC++
Rattrapmax6
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2577



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2005, 08:43:55 PM »

:lol: When I coded in QB I lacked a SoundBlaster card,.. Now that I code in FB, I lack all sound support,.. my luck, and a bad computer, doesn't mix well... :rotfl:
Logged

Kevin (x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

KoVeNaNT
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2005, 04:26:01 AM »

...and one other thing. Is there a "Run" command in FBIDE as in Qbasic? It's a time saver to skip compiling to test your games or whatever I am coding..
Logged
relsoft
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3927



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2005, 04:41:45 AM »

Yeah, FBide or context.
Logged

y smiley is 24 bit.


Genso's Junkyard:
http://rel.betterwebber.com/
KoVeNaNT
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2005, 04:44:14 AM »

Well then, bye bye QBasic!
Logged
Antoni Gual
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1434



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2005, 04:44:42 AM »

No, FB has no interpreter. It's just a (great) compiler.
Logged

Antoni
red_Marvin
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1509



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2005, 04:54:02 AM »

But there are IDE's for fB like FBIDE where you can press F5 to
"fast run" your code (What it does is AFIK compiling it to a temp
exe and then running the exe)
Logged

/post]
KoVeNaNT
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2005, 08:33:53 AM »

I downloaded FreeBASIC and FBide and installed it on my computer here at work and I noticed that the .DLL files aren't included? Where can I get 'em?
Logged
urger
Wandering Guru
***
Posts: 337



« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2005, 10:09:05 AM »

Well, that depends on which DLL's you need.  If you list them, we can help.
Logged

his sig left intentionally blank
jdebord
Member
*
Posts: 60


WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2005, 10:10:24 AM »

You need these DLL only if you want to use external libraries such as SDL, OpenGL etc. In this case, you must download each DLL from the appropriate web site, e.g.

OpenGL:
http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut/glut_downloads.html

SDL:
http://www.libsdl.org/index.php
Logged

ean Debord
----------------
Math library for FreeBasic:
http://www.unilim.fr/pages_perso/jean.debord/tpmath/fbmath.zip
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2005, 10:23:50 AM »

http://www.freebasic.net/about.php?section=libs

'Nuff said.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!