Qbasicnews.com
May 25, 2022, 10:12:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Small question...  (Read 5340 times)
Rokkuman
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1973



« on: February 22, 2005, 10:16:22 PM »

Does anyone know what method these two comics use to color the characters in their comics? Or if their methods are even the same?




I'm really hoping it's some form of digital art.
Logged
whitetiger0990
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2964



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2005, 12:15:17 AM »

first one really looks like digital...
second one kind of harder to tell.... but now adays a lot of the time they are digitally colored.
Logged


[size=10]Back by popular demand!
I will byte and nibble you bit by bit until nothing remains but crumbs.[/size]
Diroga
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1087


« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 02:03:26 AM »

the first one is amrican and the second one is american trying to look japanese like.
Logged
jsmith71
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1004


« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2005, 02:26:37 AM »

Quote from: "Diroga"
the first one is amrican and the second one is american trying to look japanese like.

And that had nothing to do with his question at all. Tongue
Personally I think they both look digitally done... Though I can't really just look at something like that and give you an accurate answer... I'm far from a pro at, erm... Telling whether or not a comic is digitally colored?
Logged
neuro
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 114



WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2005, 04:32:34 AM »

Diroga - just a little note on your signature...

(pi^4+pi^5)^(1/6) < e
there is no relationship between them.
ln(-1)=pi*i  is closer, or the classic expression
e^(pi*i)=-1
Logged

ignatures suck
KiZ
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2879


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2005, 10:29:43 AM »

Quote from: "neuro"
Diroga - just a little note on your signature...

(pi^4+pi^5)^(1/6) < e
there is no relationship between them.


They are close... ;P
only  0.00000002 out

although i suppose that is big in numbers inloving powers of e other complex equations etc
Logged
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2005, 11:09:08 AM »

Both are computer made. Photoshop. Scanning at 600 bpp in black and white (bitmap) and using layers and a good tablet. You better use a Mac G4 (even a G3 would do) or a very modern PC. The documents are huge.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Rokkuman
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1973



« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2005, 11:02:29 PM »

It seems to be working well on my computer. I set the size to 8 by 11 inches, drew a little bit, and the program seemed to respond smoothly. It may be a different story with the pixels all being filled in, but we'll see. As soon as I get my tablet and SCANNER. >=[

Thanks for the replies, all of you. Smiley

EDIT: Wow....................... heh.... those are pretty... expensive.... =[
Logged
jsmith71
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1004


« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2005, 01:08:06 AM »

Quote from: "Rokkuman"
It seems to be working well on my computer. I set the size to 8 by 11 inches, drew a little bit, and the program seemed to respond smoothly. It may be a different story with the pixels all being filled in, but we'll see.

I'd just like to point out that a white pixel is still technically 'filled in'. :wink:
Oh, and tablets aren't TOO expensive... My Wacom Graphire 2 4x3 (not much I know, but for me it's just fine) was about a hundred bucks... And it's probably much cheaper now.
Logged
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2005, 08:41:40 AM »

Rocku: 8x11" at 600 dpi makes a 4800 * 6600 pixels image. Such a huge image in photoshop takes 126.720.000 bytes (almost 128 Mb) per layer. The minium amount of layers is two: one for the lineart and another one for the colour art. Normally you need more. That means that your document can take up to 512 Mb in RAM. Normally people who work with those documents have a dedicated hard disk only for swapping, i.e. a "scratch disk" measuring 30 to 40 Mb.

I have 512 Mb of fast memory and I usually work a 300 dpi. My comics are drawn in A4 or A5 (metrical system, measures are roughly 8x11 and 5.5x8, respectively.) and I can work fairly well. But 8x11, 600 dpi is huge. That's why I mentioned Macs, as PowerPC processors seem more suited to this kind of stuff.

About prices, I got my Genius scanner for $80 and my NGS 6x8" tablet for $95. Wacom may be good, but it's to expensive. Mine gives me 1024 pressure levels, twice as the Graphire does, it is twice as big and costs the half.

Check http://www.ngslurbe.com/html/publicauk/detalleproducto.asp?id=30&ids=12

(it's my tablet)
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
KiZ
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2879


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2005, 11:43:15 AM »

Rockuman:  Did your name just change? Or have I gone mad?
Logged
jsmith71
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1004


« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2005, 09:11:42 PM »

Quote from: "na_th_an"
Rocku: 8x11" at 600 dpi makes a 4800 * 6600 pixels image. Such a huge image in photoshop takes 126.720.000 bytes (almost 128 Mb) per layer. The minium amount of layers is two: one for the lineart and another one for the colour art. Normally you need more. That means that your document can take up to 512 Mb in RAM. Normally people who work with those documents have a dedicated hard disk only for swapping, i.e. a "scratch disk" measuring 30 to 40 Mb.

I have 512 Mb of fast memory and I usually work a 300 dpi. My comics are drawn in A4 or A5 (metrical system, measures are roughly 8x11 and 5.5x8, respectively.) and I can work fairly well. But 8x11, 600 dpi is huge. That's why I mentioned Macs, as PowerPC processors seem more suited to this kind of stuff.

About prices, I got my Genius scanner for $80 and my NGS 6x8" tablet for $95. Wacom may be good, but it's to expensive. Mine gives me 1024 pressure levels, twice as the Graphire does, it is twice as big and costs the half.

Check http://www.ngslurbe.com/html/publicauk/detalleproducto.asp?id=30&ids=12

(it's my tablet)

Half? Actually that's about the same price. :wink:  Still, awesome deal.
And uh... Yeah, I think rocku's name did just change. What the...?  :Huh:
Logged
Rokkuman
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1973



« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2005, 09:16:45 PM »

Yep. Wildcard kindly changed it to Rokkuman for me because I only just realised that people were reading it as "Rock-U-Man", as in "Rock You Man", which is absoLUTELY not what I want. Rokkuman should get the pronunciation across a little better.
Logged
DrV
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1553



WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2005, 09:19:19 PM »

Argh... you shouldn't have said that.  Now I'll think of 'rock-u-man' whenever I see it.   Tongue   Nobody seems to pronounce my nick correctly either.
Logged
ThaMariuZ
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 105



WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2005, 10:47:45 AM »

doctor wee?
Logged

'm so lazy... no really.... i am the laziest programmer ever ... ever.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!