Qbasicnews.com
March 30, 2020, 10:56:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: Graphics Problems  (Read 8371 times)
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2005, 12:48:26 PM »

Quote from: "na_th_an"
Does it happen with every MSDOS program you try to run, or just QB? Is the minimizing completely random? Sometimes Windows pops up those globes in the systray with some info, which do the same thing that MSN Messenger notifications.

If this happens with every MSDOS program (not just QB), you should try to edit the properties of _DEFAULT.PIF. In the Misc. tab, locate an option that says something similar to "Always suspended" (My Windows is in Spanish, so I don't know the exact words) and check it.

I am only using QuickBASIC .bas files, no other "DOS" files.

Z!re:  I looked up your "pmlqqklh thread in the generals section" and read it.  Then, I went into my Start, Search (used to be "Find" in Win 98), "Find files with" and entered "pmlqqklh".  None found.  Then, I searched for all *.exe files, sorted on date, descending, and looked at all those down to the date I bought my computer.  All seem very legitimate files.  

Also, the symptoms I get seem to apply only to QuickBASIC files, whether .bas, running in QB, or .exe, running in Windows XP, and only if they contain the SCREEN command and graphics commands.  MS Word and MS Excel (from my Office 98) don't have this problem, even though those may be considered "DOS" based.  

I noticed you are running Windows 98.  I never had this problem with Win 98, only with my new XP.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
whitetiger0990
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2964



WWW
« Reply #31 on: January 17, 2005, 03:06:53 PM »

XP doesn't really have DOS (which i believe is stated before)
Win98 does. So of course it works.


Find your qb.exe
right click
go to properties
click on Misc Tab
Disallow Screen Saver (that gets annoying)
Allow 'Always Suspend'
Turn 'Idle Sensitivity' to High
Click on Screen Tab
Change Usage to FullScreen
Click OK


Try it
(I think that's it)
Logged


[size=10]Back by popular demand!
I will byte and nibble you bit by bit until nothing remains but crumbs.[/size]
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #32 on: January 17, 2005, 03:15:30 PM »

PMLQQKLH didnt show up while windows was running.

Ofcourse, if you have the same problem, you're pretty much doomed unless theres a fix/remover for it. As XP dont have a pure DOS mode, which is what's required to remove it.


EDIT: Forgot to mention that PMLQQKLH is a randomly generated filename, if you have the same thing the file might be named: AGJSSAJP, or whatever Cheesy   fun, ey?
Logged
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #33 on: January 17, 2005, 03:36:44 PM »

This is why I dual-boot XP and 98. Cheesy
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #34 on: January 17, 2005, 07:00:26 PM »

whitetiger0990: I did what you suggested.  Yes, QuickBASIC now came up screen-size, or maximized, stayed so for a few seconds, then minimized.  Same old story.  I finally went back to opening QB in a window...

adosorken:  I might be able to get Windows 98.  If so, would you be willing to take me by the hand as to what I would have to do to get the dual 98/XP set up?  That would be the best that I could aspire to, I believe.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2005, 07:05:48 PM »

It's not hard...

1. Install Windows 98.
2. Install Windows XP.

If you do this out of order, Windows 98 will overwrite the NT bootloader and your XP install will become a waste of hdd space. So you install 98 first and then install XP to a different location, preferrably on a different partition or hdd. Here, I have Windows 98 and Windows XP installed on seperate physical drives.
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #36 on: January 17, 2005, 07:16:16 PM »

Adosorken: Great!  Thanks for your information.  I think I am going to try for the two hard drives, as my Windows XP is OEM-instalalled.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #37 on: January 18, 2005, 04:53:44 AM »

Man, why don't you *at least* try what I suggested? Try another MSDOS programs, I dunno, whatever.

Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2005, 11:32:29 AM »

Quote from: "na_th_an"
Man, why don't you *at least* try what I suggested? Try another MSDOS programs, I dunno, whatever.

Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program.

na_th_an: I apologize!  I thought that your previous post in this thread, on Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:14 pm, was answered by me, on that same day, at 8:48 pm, by my:
"I am only using QuickBASIC .bas files, no other "DOS" files. "  Which I thought answered your question as to whether it happened with other DOS files.
And, since all of my posts have said that running any .bas program in QuickBASIC, or any QuickBASIC .exe file,  under Windows XP Home Edition, if SCREEN was used in that file, ALWAYS ran with a full screen for a few seconds, then minimized, I thought that I had previously answered your question as to random happenings.   No, it is NOT a random happening, it ALWAYS occurs on my system.  What "DOS" programs are you suggesting I try?

As to your
"Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program."
Yes, I understand that.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2005, 11:37:27 AM »

I suggested to try another MSDOS programs to see if it was an issue of a misconfiguration of your NTVDM or it was an issue just with QB.EXE. I suggested you to try and edit _DEFAULT.PIF. I got no propper reply on that, so I guess you haven't even tried.

Another MSDOS programs: MS Edit, for example, any old game, whatever.

I spoke about MS Word and stuff replying this:

Quote
MS Word and MS Excel (from my Office 98 ) don't have this problem, even though those may be considered "DOS" based.


'Cause the above statement is wrong. Both are Windows programs that have nothing to do with DOS. So obviously they don't have that problem.

I just don't care anymore. Tried to help, but that seems to annoy you.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #40 on: January 18, 2005, 01:06:26 PM »

na_th_an:  I apologize for coming across as annoyed!  I just don't have the correct knack for expressing myself properly, many times.  I am NOT annoyed, just chagrined because I don't understand things people reply to me.  Having said this:

I don't know what other MSDOS programs I might have.  I do have an old Norton "huge editor" called ne.exe.  Hey, I tried it in my XP, and, it opens as a window for an instant, then minimizes!

Next, I tried QW.EXE (QuiteWrite, from Parson Technology, C 1988).  It seems to work fine as a window, but, when I pressed Alt+Enter, it maximized for a few seconds, then went back to a window, identically as my QB does!

I now understand what and why you wrote about MS Word not being a DOS program.  But, I just thought that any program written before Windows 2000 was a DOS program.  I now see that I was ignorant-and still may be.  My understanding now is that a DOS program is one written BEFORE Windows, when ONLY DOS was the operating system.  I was confused.  Since all my old programs ran so well in Windows 98, I thought that they were running under DOS.  And, they may well have been, since I think that those Windows operating systems were still supporting DOS totally.  But, that doesn't make them, automatically, DOS programs, I now understand.

So, I tried the next step you had recommeded, editing the properties of _DEFAULT.PIF.  I did a Search for that file, and got only _DEFAULT, a shortcut.  I opened its properties, and it points to _DEFAULT.BAT.  I did a Search for _*.bat, and got nothing.  I did notice that, in all cases, Search is "Not looking in hidden files and folders".  Maybe that's why I can't find *DEFAULT.PIF?  How can I make Search look in the hidden files and folders?

I did open QuickBASIC's properties and checked the Background's "Always suspend" checkbox, but that didn't help.

na-th-an, I am willing to try whatever you suggest, so, please continue to try to help and bear me.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #41 on: January 18, 2005, 02:26:30 PM »

_DEFAULT is what you're looking for. Windows automatically hides the .pif, even if you have all extensions turned on. Look at _DEFAULT's property sheet, and you should be able to make changes to it.

A .pif is a Program Information File, something that's been around since Windows 3 and probably before that as well. XP just likes to hide the fact that it's a .pif, since Microsoft likes to believe that even expert Windows users won't know what to do with it. :roll:
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!