Qbasicnews.com
April 05, 2020, 07:28:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Graphics Problems  (Read 8375 times)
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


« on: December 29, 2004, 09:07:43 AM »

When in qbasic I try to use the PSET command or any other drawing command for that reason the black screen comes up shows me the drawing but I can't exit the screen, could someone please help.

P.s. I have to keep pressing Ctrl+Alt+Delete.
Logged
Jofers
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1040



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2004, 09:35:47 AM »

That makes little sense.

Is the source code small enough to post?
Logged
shiftLynx
Wandering Guru
***
Posts: 340



WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2004, 09:39:56 AM »

Which version of Windows are you using? Sounds like a problem I have with Windows 2000 - anything that changes the graphics mode in the NTVDM ends up freezing.
Logged

img]http://www.cdsoft.co.uk/misc/shiftlynx.png[/img]
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2004, 12:01:26 PM »

I'm using windows xp home edition and the source code is-

Code:
SCREEN 12
PSET (30,50)
END
Logged
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2004, 12:15:37 PM »

You are going to full screen.

To exit full screen press ALT+ENTER. To enter full screen from desktop press ALT+ENTER as well when the MSDOS box has the focus.

QB is a MSDOS program. It should be ran in full screen.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2004, 12:45:22 PM »

When in full screen mode qbasic 4.5 does not respond to me whatsoever, it does not let me use a mouse or keyboard.
Logged
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2004, 02:28:13 PM »

Joy of XP+DOS programs...

Well, if you feel up to it, I suggest you learn freeBASIC instead, it's almost the same as QB, but Windows instead of DOS. Very flexible and quite easy to pick up.
Logged
DrV
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1553



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2004, 06:17:59 PM »

Does QB display a "Press any key to continue..." message after you run it?

Maybe pressing a key would help...
Logged
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2004, 06:37:38 PM »

Yes, it does and I'm niot stupid but you have misread my earlier messages it will not take input from the keyboard or mouse, I repeat it will not take input from the keyborad or mouse.
Logged
whitetiger0990
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2964



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2004, 07:43:37 PM »

service pack 2? It's been known to kill qbasic in some cases.
Logged


[size=10]Back by popular demand!
I will byte and nibble you bit by bit until nothing remains but crumbs.[/size]
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


SP2
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2004, 06:33:09 AM »

Yes, I do have service pack 2 thats what must be doing it.
Logged
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2004, 12:16:15 PM »

Use dosbox or  dual boot with DOS/Win 9x.
Logged
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2005, 12:22:56 AM »

Comdriver, I am running Windows XP Home Edition too.  I had no trouble with QB when my operating system was Windows 98.  But, when I got a new computer with Windows XP Home Edition, a QuickBASIC program with SCREEN commands always opens a full, black screen, then shows the first screen for a few seconds, then minimizes! Sad  

I asked people on other QB forums about this, and the best answer I got was to try DOSBox.exe.  It is free, and it loads on top of Windows.  Then, you can run QB or QB programs with SCREEN, and they run as expected.   The only command that I found that won't run with DOSBox is LPRINT.

Copy all your QuickBASIC directories to C:.  I created a new, C:\QB directory, and put all my QB.exe files there, and made three more subdirectories under the QB directory.  I called these QBasc (foir QB .asc files), QBbas (for QB .BAS files), and QBexe (for QB .exe files).

Once you download DOSBox.exe (DB), make a shortcut to your desktop.  Double click on it, and you are in the Z: directory of DB.  You enter
mount c c:\qb
and then
c:
and you are in the c:\qb directory.
If you enter QB, QuickBASIC is up and running.  There, you can use the menu, click on File, OpenFile, and you will see the three subdirectories there.  Double click on, say, QBbas, and you will see all your .bas files.  Choose one and run it.  It runs fine!

Only problem, outside of LPRINT not being recognized by DB, is that you cannot get out of the QB window, unless you Exit QB, and then Exit DB.  But, it's so easy to restart, that it is a minor problem to me.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
whitetiger0990
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2964



WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2005, 01:14:45 AM »

Are you running it in fullscrean from the start?

Quote from: "na_th_an"
You are going to full screen.

To exit full screen press ALT+ENTER. To enter full screen from desktop press ALT+ENTER as well when the MSDOS box has the focus.

QB is a MSDOS program. It should be ran in full screen.
Logged


[size=10]Back by popular demand!
I will byte and nibble you bit by bit until nothing remains but crumbs.[/size]
ComDriver
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 108


« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2005, 06:31:03 PM »

I actually downloaded qb from another source and it works fine with no problems. Thanks for your help.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!