Qbasicnews.com
April 08, 2020, 07:02:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Mouse Problems in high-res modes...  (Read 8331 times)
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« on: October 20, 2004, 03:02:34 PM »

Hello all Smiley

Since a very long time, I've had troubles with the mouse in high-res modes. Not only in QB programs using UGL or FLib, but also in commercial high-res games using VESA or similar.

What happens is that the mouse is trapped in a box in the upperleft corner of the screen, something like (0,0)-(100,50). If your mouse can't move out of this box, many games like Ascendancy or the FLib setup program become unrunnable/unplayable.

Is there anything I can do about this? Like a mouse patch for the NTVDM (yes... Win2K), or similar? Anyway, I seem to experience this problem only in Win2K, in WinXP they solved the problem, it seems.

Anyway, it's getting really annoying now...

Any help is appreciated Wink

Neo

P.S. (edit) I also use VDMSound, else I am not able to maximize the window fast enough before the program starts testing for VESA. And also for the cool sound of course Wink
Logged
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2004, 07:45:13 AM »

did u try using dosbox? Does it do that in Dos box too? Also, did you apply the latest microsoft patches?
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2004, 08:21:33 AM »

I have DOSbox 0.60 and the mouse works fine, although the programs now are unrunnable because they're too slow Wink

What Microsoft patches?
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2004, 03:24:23 AM »

Anyone? Sad
Logged
Plasma
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1770


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2004, 10:42:24 AM »

Never had that problem...
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2004, 02:39:40 PM »

Hehe Wink That helps me much Tongue
Logged
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2004, 11:42:54 AM »

Quote from: "Neo"
What Microsoft patches?


how should i know what M$ patch? I dont even run M$ OS =P.
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2004, 11:53:07 AM »

That's not what I meant Tongue I meant what M$ patches? For, I wasn't able to find any... Wink
Logged
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2004, 12:39:53 PM »

my question was in general. They find such bugs and then release patches for them. But I dont think they will bother correcting a bug in NTVDM =*(
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2004, 12:42:00 PM »

I know Sad They really let go of DOS... grrr Wink
Logged
Blitz
I hold this place together
*****
Posts: 853



WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2004, 12:05:06 AM »

yepp, win2k problem. GL doesn't have that problem.
Logged

oship me and i will give you lots of guurrls and beeea
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2004, 02:10:10 AM »

You actually mean to say that he wont get the problem if he uses uGL? =P
Logged
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2004, 07:12:50 AM »

Ah, UGL is even worse! Wink The mouse stays in the upperleft corner yes, but it also crashes after doing too much at a time Wink
Logged
v3cz0r
I hold this place together
*****
Posts: 924



WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2004, 04:30:25 PM »

Quote from: "Neo"
Ah, UGL is even worse! ;) The mouse stays in the upperleft corner yes, but it also crashes after doing too much at a time ;)


Then you gotta a really screwed box there ;).. uGL is the only qb lib that actually doesn't use any int services to add mouse support (other than to reset the mouse at init/end and to check for its presence), everything else is done internally, on it's own ISR, there's no polling.

Win2k's NTVDM seems to have a bug when emulating the mouse int services, any DOS app running in high-res and that does not implements its own mouse ISR will have the cursor locked at top-left of screen.

If you had any $dynamic's in your code for sure when using the mouse module it would crash soon or later, but that is shown in the manual.. blame QB for moving it's arrays when garbage-collecting, not us. CS2D uses uGL for everything, including mouse.. ~12000 lines of code and stills running fine.. maybe i'm just lucky? nah..
Logged

Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2004, 04:51:55 PM »

Well, it's not only UGL's mouse module... it's more. I just run one of your examples (e.g. the line-drawing one, or the one with the polygons), and it crashed. Simple as that.

Then I add some sort of delay factor (Vsync, or a For loop), and it works... so I'm quite confused about what's happening here... Tongue
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!