Qbasicnews.com
April 03, 2020, 07:29:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: QB in XP?  (Read 2100 times)
bobrobyn
Member
*
Posts: 27


« on: April 09, 2004, 01:55:19 PM »

Ok, this may be a stupid question, but is it possible to get QB into XP?  I guess it may, if you install dos first or something...
What do you guys think?
~bobrobyn
Logged

If she weights the same as a duck,
then she's made of wood, and therefore-
a witch"
-Holy Grail
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2004, 02:07:44 PM »

A third of this forum probably uses Windows XP. :wink:
It's possible, certainly. I use it myself. If you do a few tweaks, you can get it pretty fast. XP has a built-in virtual machine that can run DOS programs with just a little fuss. A bit of configuration actually makes it run fast.
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
bobrobyn
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2004, 02:13:05 PM »

Ok, thanks.  So would I just "load qbasic" and load it form the command prompt or what I do with 98 and make a shortcut or what?  Thanks again.
~bobrobyn
Logged

If she weights the same as a duck,
then she's made of wood, and therefore-
a witch"
-Holy Grail
red_Marvin
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1509



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2004, 05:31:08 PM »

QB is an exe file so yo just double-click the icon with the name qb.exe (or qbasic.exe or something depending on what verision you use)
Logged

/post]
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2004, 05:49:55 PM »

Yeah. Pretend you're using Windows 95/98. :wink:
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
bobrobyn
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2004, 08:00:44 PM »

Oh, ok.  I thought because XP doesn't have DOS...
Well anyway, thanks guys.

~bobrobyn
Logged

If she weights the same as a duck,
then she's made of wood, and therefore-
a witch"
-Holy Grail
TheBigBasicQ
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4550



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2004, 12:19:54 PM »

Dude, XP is an operating system. Similarly DOS is an operating system. Ever since Microsoft started the line of the Windows products its been focusing on the GUI(Graphical User Interface - Windows, Buttons aso...). But every operating system needs a console for people like us to screw around =P. So microsoft kept 'DOS' in their Windows OSs. But slowly it started to reduce DOS support. So XP has the least support for DOS and the upcoming Longhorn(Another of Microsofts OSs) may not have DOS support at all.

So if you have WinXP then just open a "DOS command prompt and type qbasic at the prompt" or "Search for a qbasic.exe and double click on it".
Logged
bobrobyn
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2004, 05:23:58 PM »

Ok, I got it to work now, but it works so freakin' slow on it, and it freezes if I try to run a simple program.
Does anyone know if it's possible to stop this?
~bobrobyn
Logged

If she weights the same as a duck,
then she's made of wood, and therefore-
a witch"
-Holy Grail
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2004, 06:01:14 PM »

Press ALT+ENTER and run it fullscreen.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
bobrobyn
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2004, 06:13:20 PM »

Hey thanks, it now works like a... well like its should.
~bobrobyn
Logged

If she weights the same as a duck,
then she's made of wood, and therefore-
a witch"
-Holy Grail
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!