Qbasicnews.com
February 22, 2020, 08:16:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: QBasic under LINUX?  (Read 6674 times)
VonGodric
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 674



WWW
« on: January 09, 2004, 11:50:31 AM »

Is it possible? I know about DosBOX and DosEMU dos emulators and even tryed out, but they are incredibly slow and qbasic doesn't work with FUTURE.Library...

So is there some other way to use QBasic in Linux?
Logged

url]http://fbide.sourceforge.net/[/url]
Rhiannon
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1031



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2004, 11:58:53 AM »

Try VMware Wink
Logged

igitalblackie.com - Done! Smiley Ask about our hosting Wink

-Goddess of the of the No More Religion Threads movement Smiley
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2004, 12:00:31 PM »

If you're looking for speed, not even a virtual machine will do - emulators are even slower.
My suggestion: dual-boot MSDOS. I would if I knew how. (I hate Win XP).
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2004, 12:04:19 PM »

Zack: make a floppy boot disk of DOS (not with WinXP of course!) Wink
Logged
Rhiannon
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1031



WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2004, 12:29:55 PM »

I know people who have run 98 and 2k on vmware and have had no complaints about speed. (nek youre the exception, you break everything, but i still ya Wink) You could try a dualboot with lilo or some other boot manager, but it's possible youre one of those people that wants to run everything at the same time, and dont wanna stop using linux (to chat, surf forums, etc. admit it youre a forum junkie Wink) just to program in dos. Cheesy
Logged

igitalblackie.com - Done! Smiley Ask about our hosting Wink

-Goddess of the of the No More Religion Threads movement Smiley
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2004, 12:45:08 PM »

Quote from: "Neo"
Zack: make a floppy boot disk of DOS (not with WinXP of course!) Wink

I don't have a floppy drive.  :roll:  And where can I get a DOS boot floppy?
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2004, 01:01:09 PM »

http://www.oldstuff.myagora.net/powerload/bootdisk.htm

No FDD? Aw!! Get one! It costs less than $10!! Tongue
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2004, 02:20:03 PM »

My dev computer doesn't have a floppy drive either (it has an external USB, but only because the onboard FDC is fried and I have no FDC cards).
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2004, 02:46:58 PM »

How would I install it? Is it USB?
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2004, 02:50:44 PM »

Well, I was talking about the gool ol' classical FDDs. You just open your computer and plug it to the FDC and to the CC suply.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2004, 02:54:18 PM »

Oh. :roll:
I have a bunch of slots I think could fit an FDD in, on the front of the case.
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2004, 03:23:56 PM »

http://www.buildeasypc.com/hw/howto/instfdd.htm

It's easy Smiley
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2004, 04:01:13 PM »

Cool - I have the floppy driver, so I won't need to install any other special drivers that are particular to the model of the FDD?
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
adosorken
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3655



WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2004, 04:05:01 PM »

Unless your computer was built prior to like...oh, about 1983 or so Tongue you shouldn't need special drivers at all.

PS: my 700th post. Tongue Wheeeeeeeeeeee Cheesy
Logged

I'd knock on wood, but my desk is particle board.
Zack
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 3974



WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2004, 04:08:20 PM »

Oh, didn't you know, Ado? I'm running windows XP on a Commodore 64!
People think they need such good computers these days. :roll:
Logged

f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!