Qbasicnews.com
July 21, 2018, 07:58:14 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3D in QuickBasic  (Read 14447 times)
wildcard
*.*
Administrator
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2365



« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2003, 10:00:45 AM »

I finished the game, played the tutorial and both CTF games. Its loads of fun, although it could use a little bit more polish.. but not much.

Note to self: never title any game 3d even if it is ;-) || I know what you mean by it not being true 3d but, after all you can't get true 3d on a 2d monitor  :rotfl:
Logged
Hexadecimal Disaster
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1123



« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2003, 03:26:38 PM »

Heheheh... Following that criteria, this generation had not seen yet any 3D game at all. (VR devices aren't true 3D too)

About the lack of polish... it's just a demo. It's understandable.
Logged

img]http://usuarios.vtr.net/~disaster/sigs/annoyizer.php[/img]
wildcard
*.*
Administrator
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2365



« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2003, 03:38:33 PM »

Quote from: "Hexadecimal Disaster"
Heheheh... Following that criteria, this generation had not seen yet any 3D game at all. (VR devices aren't true 3D too)

About the lack of polish... it's just a demo. It's understandable.


True and true.

3D Gaming is much easier and has been around before computers.. its called "real life" or something, I'm trying to search google for more information, but its something like sport or monopoly or something.. I'll get back to you with more info later  :rotfl:
Logged
Hexadecimal Disaster
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1123



« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2003, 03:49:27 PM »

Yeah, but often 3D games needs some kind of specialized equipment, somewhat difficult to obtain for some: friends.

Sad but true.
Logged

img]http://usuarios.vtr.net/~disaster/sigs/annoyizer.php[/img]
toonski84
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2567



« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2003, 08:49:14 PM »

well, nate, i wasnt referring to the technical aspect of it being a 3d game, it was to his sounding like a goddamned infomercial over an engine he didnt program, just built a game with.
Logged

i]"I know what you're thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five? Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement, I've kinda lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum ... you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya punk?"[/i] - Dirty Harry
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2003, 12:12:59 PM »

I get it. It is like someone created a level for Quake 2 and said "The Jitter Underground, the ultimate experience in 1st Person ShooterS"  :rotfl:

Anyway, they added lotsa features to the engine. As far as I remember, the original engine just had that raycaster renderer, not scrpits nor NPCs. It was the graphical part the only thing they didn't code.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Radical Raccoon
I hold this place together
*****
Posts: 914



WWW
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2003, 08:59:31 PM »

MUX is pretty cool. The field of view feels a little small though.

What's this deal with 3D engines?
Basically, if it was width, height, and depth, I call it 3D.
Logged

na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2003, 10:09:57 PM »

Yeah, surely raycasters are "3D projections", but not 3D games, 'cause you only have 2D maps (even if they have heights). In a 3D game you, for example, could walk thru a corridor and then twist and walk thru another corridor which is over the first one. On raycasters you just have 1 level (at different heights) so it is a 2D game but with a funny projection on screen.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
toonski84
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2567



« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2003, 10:55:55 PM »

[wildcard]Not funny, so removed[/wildcard]

anyyyyway, raycasting is a close enough hack to be called 3d.  i'm sorry i brought it up.
Logged

i]"I know what you're thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five? Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement, I've kinda lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum ... you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya punk?"[/i] - Dirty Harry
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2003, 11:17:55 PM »

Hehehehehee --- very funny  :rotfl:
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Radical Raccoon
I hold this place together
*****
Posts: 914



WWW
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2003, 11:56:04 PM »

Anything that is 3D on a screen is a projection.
I understand how raycasters are limited compared to other 3D engines, but just to rule them out as not 3D isn't the correct assumption. The early 3D chess games weren't true 3D, but they showed depth which made the game 3D, because it wasn't plain flat like others.

The thing that I really disagree about is Doritos 3D. Heck! Their origianl chip was 3D really. Sure, it was a little thin, but still 3D.

I think the correct term to use when defining "true 3D" quake-like engines is the term "6D engine". 6D being 6 degrees of freedom(up, down, left, right, forward, backward, and all inbetween)

BTW, you can modify raycasters enough to have floors ontop of floors. Duke3D is a good example of that.
Logged

Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!