Qbasicnews.com
August 20, 2018, 03:34:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I've been working on this engine again.  (Read 7023 times)
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« on: August 13, 2007, 05:08:17 AM »

I'd be thankful if you guys could try it and let me know how it runs on your hardware. Thanks!  Wink


http://file-pasta.com/d/1828.rar
Logged
MystikShadows
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 542



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2007, 09:48:45 AM »

I just tried it on my laptop

1.2 gHz
512 Mb  RAM
16 openGL 1.3 (or is it 1.2 latest 1.X OpenGL)

I seem to be averaging about 1 frame per second or so.  It might be my setup or my OpenGL is really that crappy lol....later I'll try it on my other desktop (3 Gig, 256mb video card should be much better lol.


But hey, what I did see looks damn awesome to say the least :-)
Logged

hen they say it can't be done, THAT's when they call me ;-).




need hosting:  http://www.jc-hosting.net
All about ASCII: http://www.ascii-world.com
wildcard
*.*
Administrator
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2365



« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2007, 03:34:51 PM »

It works ok on my set up (Athlon 1.33/Geforce FX9500XT) albeit a bit sluggish. But man its really impressive, I really liked the castle and having fun pushing over the statues, great work.
Logged
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2007, 02:10:56 AM »

Wildcard, I'm not getting any replies to forum topics. Shocked

Thanks for testing it. With the default setting, it's rendering about 175,000 polygons per frame. lol I haven't uploaded a version with culling yet, so if you want to try it, you can set the number in data/gen.egs file to a lower value. Something like 10 is realistic... 100 is a pretty extreme stress test... 1000 is blasphemy!  Grin
Logged
RADIUM-V Interactive
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 139


WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2007, 05:36:30 AM »

It runs strangely on my laptop:

Intel Duo-Core @ 1.73GHz
1GB DDR2 RAM
128MB Intel Integrated Graphics

I get about 10fps with shadows on, but it's steady 60 fps with the shadows off. Other than that, every other setting runs fine, even at 1024x768, 16x AA, Anisotropic filtering on, vertical sync on, etc. Without vertical sync, it jumps to 256fps (and runs ridiculously fast).

It doesn't want to work for me at 1280x800, my max resolution.
 
I'll test it on my desktop tomorrow. If MY desktop can't run it well, then you might need to re-work some things XD (jk)
Logged

Quote from: thegrogen
As a side note, I wish I was a robotic zombie ninja pirate.
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2007, 05:41:55 AM »

I haven't uploaded a version with culling yet, so if you want to try it, you can set the number in data/gen.egs file to a lower value. Something like 10 is realistic... 100 is a pretty extreme stress test... 1000 is blasphemy!  Grin


The default is 100... where nobody in their right mind would try to actually draw that many in a real time game without some sort of culling. lol
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!