Qbasicnews.com
November 13, 2019, 06:24:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Quickbasic 1.0 for MAC mouse question (free beer for help)  (Read 2674 times)
bubblesdee
New Member

Posts: 3


« on: December 09, 2006, 01:28:35 AM »

Hi

I am new to this forum so be gentle.  
I am trying to write a quickbasic program using quickbasic for MAC ver 1.0b that will control my Home Brewery

I am programming this up on a MAC SE !

I need some help with the mouse calls/stuff.

What I want to do is have a screen with 5 buttons on it, each button would represent a device i would like to control (motor, pump, solenoid, etc..)

I would like to be able to select the button with the mouse and turn on or off these devices. I programmed with qbasic (MS) back in  college but have lost touch with it.

I guess my question is, how can I tell if the mouse is over the button and if the button has been pressed.  Once this is confirmed, I would then jump to a SUB that would output to the serial port and then out to an Analog/digital interface board.  I have the serial interface stuff working fine,  Just having trouble with the damn button selections with the mouse.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. and I will send you some homebrew!!!!

Thanks in Advance
Logged
red_Marvin
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1509



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2006, 08:44:14 AM »

I didn't know there was a mac version, but in the dos version there's no built in mouse support and it has to be handled with asm calls, these would differ between mac and pc though (if at all possible on a mac). I would instead suggest that you draw the buttons as normal
and then set a keyboard hotkey for each button.
Logged

/post]
zoasterboy
Guru
**
Posts: 295


Personal Text!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2006, 10:54:42 PM »

A mac version? Sweet, where can I get it? (I can finaly have some fun on teh school macs)
Logged

-yah
Skyler
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 564



« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2006, 04:02:31 PM »

Use Freebasic.
Logged

In the beginning, there is darkness the emptiness of a matrix waiting for the light. Then a single photon flares into existence. Then another. Soon, thousands more. Optronic pathways connect, subroutines emerge from the chaos, and a holographic consciousness is born." -The Doctor
zoasterboy
Guru
**
Posts: 295


Personal Text!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2006, 11:00:28 PM »

Yeh ok.
Logged

-yah
wallace
Wandering Guru
***
Posts: 368



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2006, 12:29:58 AM »

I would use C.  How are you using Qbasic on a Mac?  I've been a Mac user for years and I've never heard of a Mcc version.  Also, I assume that this is 16bit and Macs are 64bit and as far as I know Mac Classic platform only supports OS9 32 bit programs.

I don't entirely trust the OS 9 emulator anyways, if it is a critcal system use native OSX or UNIX programming.  C, C++, Cocoa, Java (for the love of god not Java Tongue.)  XCode has all sorts of mouse controls and the Interface builder will let you make a nice window with whatever buttons you want.
Logged

f you play a Microsoft CD backwards you can hear demonic voices.  The scary part is that if you play it forwards it installs Windows.
Opresion
Member
*
Posts: 82


« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2006, 12:56:17 PM »

Quote from: "wallace"
I've been a Mac user for years and I've never heard of a Mcc version.
Here it is the knowledge base for the Quickbasic for Macintosh, look for the file MacQBKB.chm in the footpage.
Quote from: "wallace"
Also, I assume that this is 16bit and Macs are 64bit and as far as I know Mac Classic platform only supports OS9 32 bit programs {...} XCode has all sorts of mouse controls and the Interface builder will let you make a nice window with whatever buttons you want.
i think it's some different, i read in that knowledge base that it's multitasking, pre-made mouse controls and windows stuff.
Logged

MY QBASIC'S PAGE                                                  I ONLY USE WINDOWS 98SE
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!