Qbasicnews.com
August 22, 2019, 07:15:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone remember this game?  (Read 60148 times)
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2006, 10:48:30 PM »

http://www.wolfenstein3d.co.uk/index.htm
http://diehardwolfers.areyep.com/
http://www.wolf3d.co.uk/
http://www.freewebs.com/wolfenstein3d/
http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~brlowe/

Just to list a few...

I also got a few textures from sites for newer games, such as Q3 and UT, plus a good number of generic photographic textures that scaled down well enough to use.

I've found that keeping my mapper to the limits imposed by the original TL spec (16 textures), I've been a bit limited in how detailed I can make the walls. Since Lithium's raycaster supports much more than 16 textures, I can go beyond the original spec and make much more complex scenes, so I have to update my mapper to compensate. I'll do that tomorrow I think...
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #31 on: August 27, 2006, 12:38:00 AM »

Thanks for the links Nek Smiley.

I wonder how many textures you could cram into one map before either FB or the computer burns, heh. Quite more than 16 anyway.
 Cheesy
Edit: Interesting move by the diehardwolfers to ban gmail and hotmail from the forum registration. Didn't exactly make my day, heh.
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #32 on: August 27, 2006, 01:32:03 AM »

Well, the original Two Lords relied on RTe which had a 16 texture limit. So that I didn't have to mess with the editor at the time, I kept that limit but now I can expand it. I believe Lithium's raycaster supports 128 textures out-of-the box but can be expanded further...regardless, I wouldn't push it past 255, since the wall data is kept as a byte array in the mapfile.

EDIT: Hey look, it's tomorrow, hehehe... Smiley I expanded texture usage to 31 textures per area. I admit that that's not a whole lot more but it really gives me room to play around, especially in levels like 6 where each area requires a different overall appearance.
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #33 on: August 27, 2006, 01:11:28 PM »

I got level 18 to work now also...the textures were easy to import but then I remembered that the doors would be all broken. Cheesy So I fixed all of that in the map editor. I haven't done the boss of 18 yet as he has the most complex state machine of them all but I'll get there eventually. Smiley
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #34 on: August 27, 2006, 02:06:18 PM »

Damn, how many levels are you going to do for Two Lords? And how many bosses?
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2006, 02:34:49 PM »

There are a total of 20 levels and 6 bosses. I finished 18 with the previous engine because I wanted to test the final battles (levels 19 and 20 are secret, secret I say!!). The first 18 levels are split into three episodes. I'll have the first six ready soon so I can do an alpha release. I'd release it now, but level 6 isn't quite ready, plus I'm running into some speed issues with that level as well as level 1.
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
marzecTM
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 688


« Reply #36 on: August 27, 2006, 05:41:46 PM »

i wonder, wasn't liths engine capable of also handling height differences? e.g. stairs etc.? that would add a lot to the game imo
Logged

quote="NecrosIhsan"]

[/quote]
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #37 on: August 27, 2006, 06:19:06 PM »

No, he never did anything like that. It had a height adjustment but it wasn't all that useful for much except jumping (which I use) and crouching (which I don't use).

New screenie:

Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #38 on: August 27, 2006, 11:26:05 PM »

Hell of a screenshot there Nek  Shocked . Wonder if I will see that often...

To bad the engine don't support height differences really, that would have rocked.

Quote
(levels 19 and 20 are secret, secret I say!!)
Ahw... :bounce:

By the way, do you need alpha testers?
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #39 on: August 28, 2006, 02:19:01 AM »

Well, I might still someday do a proper 3D version of this game, so I guess then, height differences will be a cakewalk. Cheesy As for alpha testers...well, since this will be a public release, I don't see why not...anyone can point out bugs or whatnot, it'll certainly help.

Anyways, one last screenshot before I just buckle down and get this thing polished off for an alpha release:


Episode 1 boss...comin' after yer ass at high speed. Cheesy
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« Reply #40 on: August 28, 2006, 02:52:02 AM »

Rock on! I guess you were just in a bad mood the other day, huh? Wink

Speaking of the full 3D version... I have something that might be of interest to you. I dropped that raycaster thing I was making in favor of a full 3D engine with realistic physics. I can show you the prototype, if you want.  Cheesy
Logged
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #41 on: August 28, 2006, 03:01:17 AM »

Sure thing, I'd be interested in seeing it.

I wasn't in a bad mood the other day...well ok I was, but that wasn't why I decided to do what I did. What I said still stands, I'm not doing this kind of stuff as my primary goal now...I'll finish this particular game because there are a lot of people looking forward to it, but I doubt I'll have the time or desire to do anything beyond this.
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #42 on: August 28, 2006, 03:56:36 PM »

Quote
As for alpha testers...well, since this will be a public release, I don't see why not...anyone can point out bugs or whatnot, it'll certainly help.
Aha, I see.

Quote
Speaking of the full 3D version... I have something that might be of interest to you. I dropped that raycaster thing I was making in favor of a full 3D engine with realistic physics. I can show you the prototype, if you want.
:bounce: That sounds interesting.
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
NecrosIhsan
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1191



« Reply #43 on: August 31, 2006, 12:12:00 AM »


Oops...got toasted by burning acid. :cry:
Logged

\__/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
(")_(") help him gain world domination.
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« Reply #44 on: August 31, 2006, 12:25:17 AM »

Mmmm... pickled adventurer!  :lol:
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!