Qbasicnews.com
October 18, 2019, 10:18:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Long remarks or instructions  (Read 3405 times)
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« on: September 19, 2005, 01:26:37 PM »

I seem to remember, possibly in BASIC, maybe in QuickBASIC, that one could use some magic word, then one could write a long paragraph of text, without having to remark each line.  Am I just dreaming?
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
The walrus
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2005, 02:40:29 PM »

Don't think you can do that..
Logged
TheDarkJay
I hold this place together
*****
Posts: 913



WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2005, 03:00:12 PM »

i think he means like in c++ where you put /n or \n (i'm not sure) and it goes to the next line...
Logged

url=http://www.sloganizer.net/en/][/url]
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2005, 03:47:12 PM »

The Dark Jay:
No, that would be the equivalent of a REM or a ' (single quote) in QuickBASIC preceding a line, making that a remark.  What I mean is a paragraph (one or more lines)!

The Walrus:
I was afraid of that.  It's just that this thought, that there was a way of doing this, doesn't want to leave me.  And, since I can't imagine this in any other program I might have used, I tend to think BASIC or QuickBASIC.  But, it might just be a dream in my mind!
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
red_Marvin
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1509



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2005, 03:56:00 PM »

AFAIK there is no such function, unless you put in an external file and
readd it in as GET fileno,1,s$ where s$ is a string of the same length
as the message.
Logged

/post]
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2005, 04:03:24 PM »

red_Marvin:
Thank you, I'll accept the answer to my question as a unanimous NO, and end this here.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2005, 04:28:34 PM »

Code:
Const CRLF = chr$(13)+chr$(10)
print "Hello, "+crlf+"World!"+crlf+crlf+"This is what you meant?"
Logged
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2005, 04:49:59 PM »

Z!re:
No, what I meant was somthing like this:
Code:

CLS
PRINT "Hi, ";
SPECIAL_QB_WORD
"The above special QuickBASIC word allows all that follows, enclosed in quotation marks, to be the equivalent of a series of remarks, without having to REMark out each line."
PRINT "Z!re"

Running the above program would only print out:

Hi, Z!re
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
urger
Wandering Guru
***
Posts: 337



« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2005, 06:46:56 PM »

Such a command does not exist in QB.
Sorry Sad
However I do think such a thing is possible in FB using #DEFINE to create a macro that would perfom that function.

A few scant moments latter:
Code:
Print "Hello ";
#IF 0
This is a multline comment
This is still a multiline comment
And yet still
Yadda, yadda, yadda
#ENDIF
PRINT "World!"
Logged

his sig left intentionally blank
Z!re
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 4599


« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2005, 08:27:03 PM »

Quote from: "Ralph"
Z!re:
No, what I meant was somthing like this:
Code:

CLS
PRINT "Hi, ";
SPECIAL_QB_WORD
"The above special QuickBASIC word allows all that follows, enclosed in quotation marks, to be the equivalent of a series of remarks, without having to REMark out each line."
PRINT "Z!re"

Running the above program would only print out:

Hi, Z!re
Ah, no.. that doesent exist.. you have to rem each line.. either with REM or '
Logged
Moneo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1971


« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2005, 10:17:24 PM »

Ralph,

In reality, the REM or ' preceding every line does not look bad and does not take that amount of extra effort. The following is an example of comments that I used to put at the beginning of every program back in the 1990's.
Code:

REM
REM             QUICKBASIC COMPILE AND LINK REQUIREMENTS
REM             ========================================
REM
REM **********************************************************************
REM
REM  Required QuickBASIC 4.5 Program/Library Files:
REM
REM  - BC.EXE       9-28-88  (QuickBASIC compiler)
REM  - PRO419.LIB  10-16-93  (QuickPak Professional library, Crescent Sw.)
REM  - BCOM45.LIB   9-28-88  (QuickBASIC alternate run-time-module library)
REM  - SMALLERR.OBJ 9-28-88  (QuickBASIC supplied object module)
REM  - LINK.EXE     9-07-88  (Microsoft Overlay Linker Version 3.69)
REM
REM **********************************************************************
REM
REM  The following command is used for QuickBASIC compilation:
REM
REM      BC /O progname,,progname;
REM
REM  The following command is used to LINK output of compilation and
REM  produce the .EXE executable program.
REM
REM      LINK /E/NOE progname+SMALLERR,,NUL,PRO419.LIB
REM
REM **********************************************************************
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!