Qbasicnews.com
December 15, 2019, 06:26:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11]
  Print  
Author Topic: How many still use qb here?  (Read 34161 times)
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #150 on: July 25, 2006, 11:37:11 PM »

Quote from: "Moneo"
Quote from: "BadMrBox"
I have almost not touched Quickbasic since I started to play around with Freebasic. God, I hated to run out of string space. I was/are very good at it. I was/are also good at corrupting my code.  :king:

What do you mean by corrupting your code?

*****


I think he means errors that could happen where qb wrote over the memory where your code was stored, then if you saved, your src was trashed.

At leas that happened to me numerous times.
Logged
na_th_an
*/-\*
*****
Posts: 8244



WWW
« Reply #151 on: July 26, 2006, 03:41:40 AM »

Never happened to me, but I've been listening to that thing since I first came here. Apparently it happens when you use the IDE. It's an IDE issue, I think.
Logged

SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #152 on: July 30, 2006, 12:28:08 AM »

Quote from: "cha0s"
Quote from: "Moneo"
Quote from: "BadMrBox"
I have almost not touched Quickbasic since I started to play around with Freebasic. God, I hated to run out of string space. I was/are very good at it. I was/are also good at corrupting my code.  :king:

What do you mean by corrupting your code?

*****


I think he means errors that could happen where qb wrote over the memory where your code was stored, then if you saved, your src was trashed.

At leas that happened to me numerous times.

Yepp, that's exactly what I mean.
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
Moneo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 1971


« Reply #153 on: July 30, 2006, 12:54:48 AM »

Quote from: "BadMrBox"
Quote from: "cha0s"
Quote from: "Moneo"
Quote from: "BadMrBox"
I have almost not touched Quickbasic since I started to play around with Freebasic. God, I hated to run out of string space. I was/are very good at it. I was/are also good at corrupting my code.  :king:

What do you mean by corrupting your code?

*****


I think he means errors that could happen where qb wrote over the memory where your code was stored, then if you saved, your src was trashed.

At leas that happened to me numerous times.

Yepp, that's exactly what I mean.

Well, that's one of the risks of running in interpreted mode. I always compile and then test.

One obvious way around this is to save your source code, in pure text, before running any tests. Then if something goes wrong you have your original source.

*****
Logged
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #154 on: July 30, 2006, 11:34:45 AM »

yeah it's an IDE issue

One obvious solution is to use a real 32-bit compiler, lol.

sorry couldnt resist  :bounce:
Logged
BadMrBox
Forum Regular
**
Posts: 140



« Reply #155 on: July 30, 2006, 02:44:22 PM »

FBIDE :longeye:
Logged


I'm a dog and I feel dirty baby
zoasterboy
Guru
**
Posts: 295


Personal Text!


WWW
« Reply #156 on: September 14, 2006, 11:56:47 PM »

I do NOT use FB. I <3 QB!!!
Logged

-yah
Dr_Davenstein
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2052


« Reply #157 on: September 15, 2006, 12:00:56 AM »

There is actually no reason not to use both, if you think about it. The only reason I don't play with QB anymore is because it chokes on XP. Well, that and the fact that FB can use C libraries, was created by one of us, doesn't suck... that was more than one reason, I guess.  :lol:
Logged
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #158 on: September 15, 2006, 04:33:48 PM »

Dr_Davenstein wrote:
Quote
The only reason I don't play with QB anymore is because it chokes on XP.

I had trouble with QuickBASIC 4.5 when I got my new computer, with Windows XP, and, for a while, got very upset over that fact.  Finally, I discovered that it wasn't XP, which others kept insisting allowed QuickBASIC to run fine.  I discovered it was a program called Flatbed.exe, that was automatically launched for my scanner (which now doesn't run with XP and is no longer supported past Windows 2000).  The fix was to take Flatbed.exe off of my automatic launch list.  Miraculously, that fixed ALL my QuickBASIC 4.5 and XP problems.  Now, it runs fine, thank you!

But, Dr, you know this, and should remember me and my problem and solution, from the old QBasicCafe.com
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #159 on: September 18, 2006, 01:12:56 AM »

the reason isn't pure qb, it's i think when you start using ems, interrupts, whatever, that xp doesn't emulate it 100%.

the reason people use fb is because it is a 32-bit compiler. there is no conversions, no emulation that has to be done. the apps run natively, fast.

edit: oh and, it's added a crap load of features. and also it's open source, no evil m$ bs waiting to happen, distrbute FB all you want, you aren't gonna get any 'cease and desist' shit like you could with qb =)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!