Qbasicnews.com
August 22, 2019, 07:46:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Edit off?  (Read 9140 times)
Neo
Na_th_an
*****
Posts: 2150



« on: August 15, 2005, 06:05:50 AM »

I'll get right to the point... please put on Edit in the QB Forums... I'd like to be able to edit my own posts at least... Thanks

The forums in question are QB Programming Help and QB Projects. I checked twice to make sure I wasn't blind or something but the Edit buttons just aren't there for me.
Logged
Sumo Jo
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1244



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2005, 08:09:07 AM »

Quote from: "Neo"
I'll get right to the point... please put on Edit in the QB Forums... I'd like to be able to edit my own posts at least... Thanks

The forums in question are QB Programming Help and QB Projects. I checked twice to make sure I wasn't blind or something but the Edit buttons just aren't there for me.


It has something to do with the newbie helpers group having editing abilities without being considered moderators.  I was trying to avoid having them listed as that.  I'll switch the permissions around again and see what else I can do for them.
Logged

url=http://fileanchor.com]FileAnchor[/url] - ImageAnchor - FBTK - QbasicNews - VPlanet - Various
Rattrapmax6
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2577



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2005, 09:55:24 AM »

It never worked anyway.. seems both Cha0s and I never had a edit option, not sure about the others, tho I'm sure it was the same for them...
Logged

Kevin (x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

Sumo Jo
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1244



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2005, 06:42:28 PM »

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
It never worked anyway.. seems both Cha0s and I never had a edit option, not sure about the others, tho I'm sure it was the same for them...


I posted quite a few times that you didn't have the edit function because it was only enabled in certain forums as a test.
Logged

url=http://fileanchor.com]FileAnchor[/url] - ImageAnchor - FBTK - QbasicNews - VPlanet - Various
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2005, 07:16:38 PM »

hehe, hearing that one more time is going to drive me crazy.

Of course, we were trying to edit posts in the forums where we supposedly had/have privs. we don't have those privs.

not like i really care, it didnt bother me before, its not like i NEED to edit posts or im gonna freak out and die. i just keep seeing this issue come up and it's so irritating. why would you insist that we have privs when we really don't? are you trying to make me more insane than i already am?
Logged
Sumo Jo
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1244



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2005, 08:46:22 PM »

Quote from: "Cha0s"
hehe, hearing that one more time is going to drive me crazy.

Of course, we were trying to edit posts in the forums where we supposedly had/have privs. we don't have those privs.

not like i really care, it didnt bother me before, its not like i NEED to edit posts or im gonna freak out and die. i just keep seeing this issue come up and it's so irritating. why would you insist that we have privs when we really don't? are you trying to make me more insane than i already am?



Sorry, when you originally mentioned it to me, it was in forums that you didn't have access to editing.  I turned editing off when I read this post early this morning.
Logged

url=http://fileanchor.com]FileAnchor[/url] - ImageAnchor - FBTK - QbasicNews - VPlanet - Various
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2005, 10:17:14 PM »

For whatever it's worth, I see MrExcel, a very serious and important forum, with editing capabilities for ANY and EVERY poster.  I, for one, am very happy that I can correct mistakes I make and, somehow, don't notice until AFTER I post.  Iwould applaud allowing all posters to edit their posts, at least for some reasonable time.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Rattrapmax6
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2577



WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2005, 10:25:17 PM »

Doesn't bother me either,. just that when a n00b fogets a Code or Syntax tag it be nice to patch it up so reading there post isn't so hard, and others might jump into help...  Tongue

And yeah.. I ment the forms we where ment to have it in... the QB ones..
Logged

Kevin (x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2005, 10:31:52 PM »

P.S. I believe MeExcel allows the original poster to edit his first post, as well as the last poster.  This might be considered "a reasonable" compromise.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Rattrapmax6
__/--\__
*****
Posts: 2577



WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2005, 10:38:26 PM »

MrExcel? I take that's some forum sys other than phpBB2... If I had to choose, the Edit is only a mix-up, but normaly users here can edit there own post..... And if this moved to some other sys than phpBB2, I'll leave....  Tongue
Logged

Kevin (x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

Sumo Jo
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1244



WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2005, 10:49:11 PM »

Quote from: "Ralph"
P.S. I believe MeExcel allows the original poster to edit his first post, as well as the last poster.  This might be considered "a reasonable" compromise.


The edit function got disabled when I was moving permissions around.  It's always been a feature here.  It's been reactivated now.

And we won't change from phpbb.
Logged

url=http://fileanchor.com]FileAnchor[/url] - ImageAnchor - FBTK - QbasicNews - VPlanet - Various
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2005, 10:59:09 PM »

By "editing", I mean after posting.  After you press the Enter button, I haven't been able to bring back my post to change something or add anthing to it.

MrExcel is a forum for Microsoft Excel users, the spreadsheet that Microsoft owns.  It has around 200 posts per day, and each post has anywhere from 12 to as many as 300 "hits".  I consider it an excelent model for other forms, so, I would like the editing feature that MrExcel allows, to be similarly available in this forum, if at all possible and acceptable to the powers that be.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Testname
New Member

Posts: 2


« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2005, 12:01:35 AM »

test

I just edited this post, meaning the edit feature is on.

still on after second post.
Logged
Testname
New Member

Posts: 2


« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2005, 12:02:19 AM »

sdaf
Logged
Sumo Jo
Been there, done that
*****
Posts: 1244



WWW
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2005, 12:04:41 AM »

Quote from: "Ralph"
By "editing", I mean after posting.  After you press the Enter button, I haven't been able to bring back my post to change something or add anthing to it.


I don't know what you mean, but I just registered a test account with no permissions and was able to edit it both after posting once and waiting a bit and posting another post.

The edit button is located at the top of your post, when in forum view.  If you still can't find it I'll upload a screenshot.
Logged

url=http://fileanchor.com]FileAnchor[/url] - ImageAnchor - FBTK - QbasicNews - VPlanet - Various
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!