Qbasicnews.com
February 20, 2020, 11:48:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Back to Qbasicnews.com | QB Online Help | FAQ | Chat | All Basic Code | QB Knowledge Base
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A difficult qbasic problem maybe impossible!!  (Read 2347 times)
Sinbad
New Member

Posts: 2


« on: July 10, 2005, 05:31:00 PM »

I am desperate for help with this problem, I have inherited some automated calibration software that runs some test equipment that I am responsible for looking after from a former sister company in Germany. The equipment keeps falling over and I now really need to replace it with some modern off the shelf calibrators, the design of the equipment to apply the stimuli etc is not a problem, however all of the information I require to communicate with our product, i.e. control through rs232, set range, readback , calculate write correction to eprom is embeded somewhere in this qbasic software and I just do not understand how it runs or where to find it as I am not a programmer myself, there seems to be loads of different files involved when I look at the structure of the program.
The software basically calibrates this electronics saftety tester in a step by step sequence.
First of all for each step the program will set up the test equipment to pass a certain stimuli to the unit under test i.e. voltage, current resistance etc etc, then it will read back the answer it gets from the unit, calculate some correction factor using a pre-determined constant or formula that is unkown to me at the moment (it is embeded somewhere in the program)
Then it will write the correction factor back to the eprom of the unit to complete the calibration. (I'm not sure if it does this immediately but I think it is more likely that writes all steps to a text file first then blows the eprom at the end)

As I said above I have been tasked with designing some new test equipment to provide the stimuli and ultimately calibrate the units , the test equipment is clearly defined and I know what stimuli I need to apply but my problem comes in the reading , correcting and writing back of the data.

I basically want to use a calibration software that I know is capable called Procal, this software will control the equipment no problem, and then it is capable of breaking out to run a little subroutine in any language be it Qbasic C++ etc to perform the calibration operation.

Where I need help is from someone who would be capable of breaking out these steps for me and list the code required for each calibration step as if it was calibrating just one step at a time. I look forward to your replies as it seems very difficult to get any answers on Qbasic from anywhere. To add to the difficulty it was originally written by a German so all of the comments and subroutine titles are in German although although all the commands are obviosly the same.
I have uploaded the program along with some additional files relating to the steps of the calibration, and also some files I translated from Germn about the program structure and commands that are unique to the electronic tester.

You can see the programme and additional details here

http://www.digitechg.co.uk/hweb/showthread.php?t=15115

Use these login details

Username test
Password expert

I know I am asking alot but I am really stuck at rock bottom here and the pressure is on me.
Your help would be greatly appreciated. Can be contacted at mike_bridg@yahoo.com
Logged
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2005, 06:24:13 PM »

I wonder if somebody has gotten in touch with this author?  Has he been able to solve his problem?  Seems to me his company really needs to hire an expert programmer to do the job!
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
MystikShadows
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 542



WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2005, 07:01:29 PM »

I was looking into it...I was analysing the code he had to work with.  Sent him a PM to which I'm waiting for an answer :-)....been a fiew days so I'm not sure...hope he gets back to me soon :-)
Logged

hen they say it can't be done, THAT's when they call me ;-).




need hosting:  http://www.jc-hosting.net
All about ASCII: http://www.ascii-world.com
Ralph
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 544


« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2005, 07:06:35 PM »

That's great!  It sounded as a very interesting problem, but, I'm afraid, beyond me.  Good luck to both of you.
Logged

Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
MystikShadows
Ancient Guru
****
Posts: 542



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2005, 07:33:15 PM »

Thanks :-).. I just PMed him...just to be sure he got the last message and if he still needs help etc etc....let's hope to hear from him soon :-)
Logged

hen they say it can't be done, THAT's when they call me ;-).




need hosting:  http://www.jc-hosting.net
All about ASCII: http://www.ascii-world.com
Sinbad
New Member

Posts: 2


« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2005, 02:01:44 PM »

Hi

I just replied to your PM
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!