Qbasicnews.com

QBasic => QB Discussion & Programming Help => Topic started by: ComDriver on December 29, 2004, 09:07:43 AM



Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: ComDriver on December 29, 2004, 09:07:43 AM
When in qbasic I try to use the PSET command or any other drawing command for that reason the black screen comes up shows me the drawing but I can't exit the screen, could someone please help.

P.s. I have to keep pressing Ctrl+Alt+Delete.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Jofers on December 29, 2004, 09:35:47 AM
That makes little sense.

Is the source code small enough to post?


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: shiftLynx on December 29, 2004, 09:39:56 AM
Which version of Windows are you using? Sounds like a problem I have with Windows 2000 - anything that changes the graphics mode in the NTVDM ends up freezing.


Title: Windows XP
Post by: ComDriver on December 29, 2004, 12:01:26 PM
I'm using windows xp home edition and the source code is-

Code:
SCREEN 12
PSET (30,50)
END


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on December 29, 2004, 12:15:37 PM
You are going to full screen.

To exit full screen press ALT+ENTER. To enter full screen from desktop press ALT+ENTER as well when the MSDOS box has the focus.

QB is a MSDOS program. It should be ran in full screen.


Title: Full screen
Post by: ComDriver on December 29, 2004, 12:45:22 PM
When in full screen mode qbasic 4.5 does not respond to me whatsoever, it does not let me use a mouse or keyboard.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Z!re on December 29, 2004, 02:28:13 PM
Joy of XP+DOS programs...

Well, if you feel up to it, I suggest you learn freeBASIC instead, it's almost the same as QB, but Windows instead of DOS. Very flexible and quite easy to pick up.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: DrV on December 29, 2004, 06:17:59 PM
Does QB display a "Press any key to continue..." message after you run it?

Maybe pressing a key would help...


Title: Reply
Post by: ComDriver on December 29, 2004, 06:37:38 PM
Yes, it does and I'm niot stupid but you have misread my earlier messages it will not take input from the keyboard or mouse, I repeat it will not take input from the keyborad or mouse.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: whitetiger0990 on December 29, 2004, 07:43:37 PM
service pack 2? It's been known to kill qbasic in some cases.


Title: SP2
Post by: ComDriver on December 30, 2004, 06:33:09 AM
Yes, I do have service pack 2 thats what must be doing it.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: TheBigBasicQ on December 30, 2004, 12:16:15 PM
Use dosbox or  dual boot with DOS/Win 9x.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 11, 2005, 12:22:56 AM
Comdriver, I am running Windows XP Home Edition too.  I had no trouble with QB when my operating system was Windows 98.  But, when I got a new computer with Windows XP Home Edition, a QuickBASIC program with SCREEN commands always opens a full, black screen, then shows the first screen for a few seconds, then minimizes! :(  

I asked people on other QB forums about this, and the best answer I got was to try DOSBox.exe.  It is free, and it loads on top of Windows.  Then, you can run QB or QB programs with SCREEN, and they run as expected.   The only command that I found that won't run with DOSBox is LPRINT.

Copy all your QuickBASIC directories to C:.  I created a new, C:\QB directory, and put all my QB.exe files there, and made three more subdirectories under the QB directory.  I called these QBasc (foir QB .asc files), QBbas (for QB .BAS files), and QBexe (for QB .exe files).

Once you download DOSBox.exe (DB), make a shortcut to your desktop.  Double click on it, and you are in the Z: directory of DB.  You enter
mount c c:\qb
and then
c:
and you are in the c:\qb directory.
If you enter QB, QuickBASIC is up and running.  There, you can use the menu, click on File, OpenFile, and you will see the three subdirectories there.  Double click on, say, QBbas, and you will see all your .bas files.  Choose one and run it.  It runs fine!

Only problem, outside of LPRINT not being recognized by DB, is that you cannot get out of the QB window, unless you Exit QB, and then Exit DB.  But, it's so easy to restart, that it is a minor problem to me.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: whitetiger0990 on January 11, 2005, 01:14:45 AM
Are you running it in fullscrean from the start?

Quote from: "na_th_an"
You are going to full screen.

To exit full screen press ALT+ENTER. To enter full screen from desktop press ALT+ENTER as well when the MSDOS box has the focus.

QB is a MSDOS program. It should be ran in full screen.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: ComDriver on January 12, 2005, 06:31:03 PM
I actually downloaded qb from another source and it works fine with no problems. Thanks for your help.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 12, 2005, 11:34:51 PM
Quote from: "ComDriver"
I actually downloaded qb from another source and it works fine with no problems. Thanks for your help.


Say, that sounds unbelievable!  What source did you do the downloading from?  I am running on Windows XP Home Edition, same as you, but am havaing graphics problems with my old QuickBASIC 4.5.  

There are many folks out there with this same problem, and, if your download of QB does the trick, it will be great to know!

So, ComDriver, PLEASE post the web site here.  Thank you!


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 13, 2005, 06:05:56 AM
Quote from: "Ralph"
But, when I got a new computer with Windows XP Home Edition,


Maybe it has to do with your new computer and not with Windows XP. QB works seamlessly under Win XP.

You can try to download QB 4.5 (the full package one) from qbnz.com and try that version.


Title: Where from
Post by: ComDriver on January 13, 2005, 01:12:18 PM
I downloaded it from qb4all.com i don't know what made the difference.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 13, 2005, 07:52:38 PM
Quote from: "na_th_an"
You can try to download QB 4.5 (the full package one) from qbnz.com and try that version.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 14, 2005, 12:58:30 PM
Comdriver:  I visited the site you mentioned, qb4all.com, and they show various versions of QuickBASIC, including versions 4, 4.5 and 7.1.  Would you please tell us which version you downloaded?

Na_th_an:  I am already using version 4.5, which I bought back in 1989.  Maybe I am now missing some file?  Would you please check out my current QB directory files?  Here they are:

BC.EXE
BCOM45.LIB
BQLB45.LIB
BRUN45.EXE
BRUN45.LIB
DESC.SDI*
LIB.EXE
LINK.EXE
MOUSE.COM
MOUSE.INI
QB (shortcut)
QB4UTIL.BI*
QB4UTIL.LIB*
QB45ADVR.HLP
QB45TENER.HLP
QB45QCK.HLP
QB.BI
QB.exe
QB.INI
QB.LIB
QB.QLB
QB_EDR.LIB*

*Four later files that I picked up "along the way"


Title: Download
Post by: ComDriver on January 14, 2005, 01:40:26 PM
I downloaded QBasic 4.5 and I just downloaded it there now to cheak and the graphics (screen 12 etc.) definitly work on mine computer. Hope this helps.


Title: Download of QuickBASIC 4.5 from qb4all.com
Post by: Ralph on January 14, 2005, 07:41:18 PM
ComDriver:  Thanks.  I went to qb4all.com and tried and tried, but just didn't see where I could download QuickBASIC 4.5.  How did
you do it?


Title: Qbasic
Post by: ComDriver on January 15, 2005, 06:16:51 AM
Maybe we aren't talking about the same thing. Go to qb4all.com then go to downloads and click on the compiler section,  go to page 2, scroll down and Qbasic 4.5 should be there.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 15, 2005, 08:43:22 AM
Thanks, ComDriver.  I downloaded QB45 on qb4all.com, second page, as you instructed.  Opened qb.exe there, entered:
SCREEN 12
CIRCLE (100,100(,35
and ran.  Got same old results, a full screen with the expected circle, then, after a few seconds, minimized!  No luck!

By the way, for those who wonder what my computer might be, it is a Sony VAIA computer with an Intel Pentium 4, with 525MB, 160GB harddrive, Windows XP Home Edition Version 5.5.2600


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: ComDriver on January 15, 2005, 10:37:19 AM
Whenever I downloaded it I put it straight onto my hard drive under the Qbasic, that probably won't help but its worth a try.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 15, 2005, 05:20:45 PM
Nope!  That's exactly what I did.  But, using DOSBox, it seems to run fairly well, with some strange happenings from time to time, but, at least I can run the progam. :D


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 15, 2005, 05:49:10 PM
Do you shift to full screen as soon as you start QB? Try it.

Besides, MSN Messenger minimizes MSDOS programs when a new buddy logs in or when you recieve a message. That sucks. Maybe you had MSN Messenger or another Windows program running...


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 16, 2005, 06:09:15 PM
Na_th_an wrote:
"Do you shift to full screen as soon as you start QB? Try it.

Besides, MSN Messenger minimizes MSDOS programs when a new buddy logs in or when you recieve a message. That sucks. Maybe you had MSN Messenger or another Windows program running..."

I start QuickBASIC 4.5, do a Shift+Enter, it maximizes, stays there for a few seconds, then goes back to a window.  I can do this over and over, with the same result.  When it's maximized, if I try to click on File, it just reverst to the window.

No, I do not have MSN Messenger running, so, that;s out.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 17, 2005, 11:14:45 AM
Does it happen with every MSDOS program you try to run, or just QB? Is the minimizing completely random? Sometimes Windows pops up those globes in the systray with some info, which do the same thing that MSN Messenger notifications.

If this happens with every MSDOS program (not just QB), you should try to edit the properties of _DEFAULT.PIF. In the Misc. tab, locate an option that says something similar to "Always suspended" (My Windows is in Spanish, so I don't know the exact words) and check it.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Z!re on January 17, 2005, 11:16:11 AM
I had the same problem, turned out to be virus/malware/spyware, see my pmlqqklh thread in the generals section.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 17, 2005, 12:48:26 PM
Quote from: "na_th_an"
Does it happen with every MSDOS program you try to run, or just QB? Is the minimizing completely random? Sometimes Windows pops up those globes in the systray with some info, which do the same thing that MSN Messenger notifications.

If this happens with every MSDOS program (not just QB), you should try to edit the properties of _DEFAULT.PIF. In the Misc. tab, locate an option that says something similar to "Always suspended" (My Windows is in Spanish, so I don't know the exact words) and check it.

I am only using QuickBASIC .bas files, no other "DOS" files.

Z!re:  I looked up your "pmlqqklh thread in the generals section" and read it.  Then, I went into my Start, Search (used to be "Find" in Win 98), "Find files with" and entered "pmlqqklh".  None found.  Then, I searched for all *.exe files, sorted on date, descending, and looked at all those down to the date I bought my computer.  All seem very legitimate files.  

Also, the symptoms I get seem to apply only to QuickBASIC files, whether .bas, running in QB, or .exe, running in Windows XP, and only if they contain the SCREEN command and graphics commands.  MS Word and MS Excel (from my Office 98) don't have this problem, even though those may be considered "DOS" based.  

I noticed you are running Windows 98.  I never had this problem with Win 98, only with my new XP.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: whitetiger0990 on January 17, 2005, 03:06:53 PM
XP doesn't really have DOS (which i believe is stated before)
Win98 does. So of course it works.


Find your qb.exe
right click
go to properties
click on Misc Tab
Disallow Screen Saver (that gets annoying)
Allow 'Always Suspend'
Turn 'Idle Sensitivity' to High
Click on Screen Tab
Change Usage to FullScreen
Click OK


Try it
(I think that's it)


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Z!re on January 17, 2005, 03:15:30 PM
PMLQQKLH didnt show up while windows was running.

Ofcourse, if you have the same problem, you're pretty much doomed unless theres a fix/remover for it. As XP dont have a pure DOS mode, which is what's required to remove it.


EDIT: Forgot to mention that PMLQQKLH is a randomly generated filename, if you have the same thing the file might be named: AGJSSAJP, or whatever :D   fun, ey?


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: adosorken on January 17, 2005, 03:36:44 PM
This is why I dual-boot XP and 98. :D


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 17, 2005, 07:00:26 PM
whitetiger0990: I did what you suggested.  Yes, QuickBASIC now came up screen-size, or maximized, stayed so for a few seconds, then minimized.  Same old story.  I finally went back to opening QB in a window...

adosorken:  I might be able to get Windows 98.  If so, would you be willing to take me by the hand as to what I would have to do to get the dual 98/XP set up?  That would be the best that I could aspire to, I believe.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: adosorken on January 17, 2005, 07:05:48 PM
It's not hard...

1. Install Windows 98.
2. Install Windows XP.

If you do this out of order, Windows 98 will overwrite the NT bootloader and your XP install will become a waste of hdd space. So you install 98 first and then install XP to a different location, preferrably on a different partition or hdd. Here, I have Windows 98 and Windows XP installed on seperate physical drives.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 17, 2005, 07:16:16 PM
Adosorken: Great!  Thanks for your information.  I think I am going to try for the two hard drives, as my Windows XP is OEM-instalalled.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 18, 2005, 04:53:44 AM
Man, why don't you *at least* try what I suggested? Try another MSDOS programs, I dunno, whatever.

Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 18, 2005, 11:32:29 AM
Quote from: "na_th_an"
Man, why don't you *at least* try what I suggested? Try another MSDOS programs, I dunno, whatever.

Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program.

na_th_an: I apologize!  I thought that your previous post in this thread, on Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:14 pm, was answered by me, on that same day, at 8:48 pm, by my:
"I am only using QuickBASIC .bas files, no other "DOS" files. "  Which I thought answered your question as to whether it happened with other DOS files.
And, since all of my posts have said that running any .bas program in QuickBASIC, or any QuickBASIC .exe file,  under Windows XP Home Edition, if SCREEN was used in that file, ALWAYS ran with a full screen for a few seconds, then minimized, I thought that I had previously answered your question as to random happenings.   No, it is NOT a random happening, it ALWAYS occurs on my system.  What "DOS" programs are you suggesting I try?

As to your
"Btw, MS Word has nothing to do with MSDOS. It is a Windows program."
Yes, I understand that.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: na_th_an on January 18, 2005, 11:37:27 AM
I suggested to try another MSDOS programs to see if it was an issue of a misconfiguration of your NTVDM or it was an issue just with QB.EXE. I suggested you to try and edit _DEFAULT.PIF. I got no propper reply on that, so I guess you haven't even tried.

Another MSDOS programs: MS Edit, for example, any old game, whatever.

I spoke about MS Word and stuff replying this:

Quote
MS Word and MS Excel (from my Office 98 ) don't have this problem, even though those may be considered "DOS" based.


'Cause the above statement is wrong. Both are Windows programs that have nothing to do with DOS. So obviously they don't have that problem.

I just don't care anymore. Tried to help, but that seems to annoy you.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: Ralph on January 18, 2005, 01:06:26 PM
na_th_an:  I apologize for coming across as annoyed!  I just don't have the correct knack for expressing myself properly, many times.  I am NOT annoyed, just chagrined because I don't understand things people reply to me.  Having said this:

I don't know what other MSDOS programs I might have.  I do have an old Norton "huge editor" called ne.exe.  Hey, I tried it in my XP, and, it opens as a window for an instant, then minimizes!

Next, I tried QW.EXE (QuiteWrite, from Parson Technology, C 1988).  It seems to work fine as a window, but, when I pressed Alt+Enter, it maximized for a few seconds, then went back to a window, identically as my QB does!

I now understand what and why you wrote about MS Word not being a DOS program.  But, I just thought that any program written before Windows 2000 was a DOS program.  I now see that I was ignorant-and still may be.  My understanding now is that a DOS program is one written BEFORE Windows, when ONLY DOS was the operating system.  I was confused.  Since all my old programs ran so well in Windows 98, I thought that they were running under DOS.  And, they may well have been, since I think that those Windows operating systems were still supporting DOS totally.  But, that doesn't make them, automatically, DOS programs, I now understand.

So, I tried the next step you had recommeded, editing the properties of _DEFAULT.PIF.  I did a Search for that file, and got only _DEFAULT, a shortcut.  I opened its properties, and it points to _DEFAULT.BAT.  I did a Search for _*.bat, and got nothing.  I did notice that, in all cases, Search is "Not looking in hidden files and folders".  Maybe that's why I can't find *DEFAULT.PIF?  How can I make Search look in the hidden files and folders?

I did open QuickBASIC's properties and checked the Background's "Always suspend" checkbox, but that didn't help.

na-th-an, I am willing to try whatever you suggest, so, please continue to try to help and bear me.


Title: Graphics Problems
Post by: adosorken on January 18, 2005, 02:26:30 PM
_DEFAULT is what you're looking for. Windows automatically hides the .pif, even if you have all extensions turned on. Look at _DEFAULT's property sheet, and you should be able to make changes to it.

A .pif is a Program Information File, something that's been around since Windows 3 and probably before that as well. XP just likes to hide the fact that it's a .pif, since Microsoft likes to believe that even expert Windows users won't know what to do with it. :roll: