Qbasicnews.com

QBasic => QB Discussion & Programming Help => Topic started by: GordonSweet on December 21, 2008, 07:58:54 AM



Title: Failing to display QB and DOS software
Post by: GordonSweet on December 21, 2008, 07:58:54 AM
My system using Win XP refuses to display any QB full screen modes apart from SCREEN 0, or any DOS software involving Graphics. As a result I have to use the excellent DOSBOX or create programs with FB.

For a long time I was under the impression the problem was due to using a Flat Screen monitor with a new system. But recently someone gave me an old 15 CRT monitor which behaved the same refusing to display DOS software.  If you visit below you will find a copy of a warning box that sometimes shows after refusing to display some DOS programs, and some details of the CPU used.

Can anyone suggest a solution to the problem which I suspect has been encountered by others.

Thanks    Gordon

http://www.sigord.co.uk/temp.mht


Title: Re: Failing to display QB and DOS software
Post by: Clippy on December 21, 2008, 02:31:43 PM
That is because your PC is 64 bit instead of 32. Just like many Vista's. Thus you must use DOSBOX, which can sometimes slow down a QB program.

Buy an older machine just for your DOS programming. They are pretty cheap and can be found in newspaper ads.

Ted


Title: Re: Failing to display QB and DOS software
Post by: Skyler on December 21, 2008, 05:32:24 PM
Buy an older machine just for your DOS programming. They are pretty cheap and can be found in newspaper ads.

Or at your local thrift store/college. I picked up an old one from the EET department at my community college for free; I've often seen low-end machines at Goodwill for ~$0.99-$5.00.

Skyler


Title: Re: Failing to display QB and DOS software
Post by: Plasma on December 27, 2008, 03:14:29 AM
Logging in to clear up some common misconceptions...

Whather or not your CPU is 64-bit has no bearing on the full-screen display of DOS programs in Windows. If you can run any DOS programs, then you are running a 32-bit version of Windows.

Both Windows XP and Vista 32-bit can display full-screen DOS programs, with graphics, no matter what CPU or graphics card you have. The trick is all in the software.

For Windows XP, the solution is this: http://www.phatcode.net/downloads.php?id=196 (http://www.phatcode.net/downloads.php?id=196)
Long story short, recent NVidia and ATI drivers bork DOS graphics modes. This fixes them. Reboot in safe mode, extract all files in the ZIP to a temp directory and run install.bat. Then restart, and you should have your full-screen DOS graphics back. If you ever update your graphics driver, you will have to do the patch again.

For Windows Vista, you have to use XP graphics drivers, because WDDM (Vista) drivers disable int 10h. This disables Aero, however.


Title: Re: Failing to display QB and DOS software
Post by: Clippy on December 27, 2008, 03:55:51 PM
You are correct! But most 64 bit PC's have a 64 bit version of Windows also. You could perhaps find a 32 bit version of XP still. I think some computer places like Dell, will even replace it for free.

So, in the end, you will not be able to use the full capabilities of 64 anyhow.

Ted