Qbasicnews.com

QBasic => QB Discussion & Programming Help => Topic started by: Raj on October 22, 2008, 01:31:29 AM



Title: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Raj on October 22, 2008, 01:31:29 AM
Dear All

a) Is QuickBasic 4.5 a licensed product currently? I happened to read some postings on the internet that suggest MS released the product into Public Domain long ago, but I could not find any MS official announcement to that effect.

b) Can a program written using QuickBasic be executed using QBasic interpreter without any issues?

We discovered a legacy program at work which we want to use it temporarily but I want to cover the licensing. I will very much appreciate any feedback on this. Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Raj


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Ralph on October 22, 2008, 02:06:53 AM
All credible sources I have read agree that QBasic and QuickBASIC have NEVER been released by their legal owner, Microsoft.  For legal use, you must have a legally bought copy of the application, and, probably, proof of purchase.

Because Microsoft will, in all probability, will not try to persue the "little" guy, such as  the hobby user, doesn't mean it won't, someday...

For a business, I think theirlawyers will always advise a big NO to the use you contemplate, unless you have a legitamate copy of the application.

Sorry for the bad news!


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Clippy on October 22, 2008, 02:23:19 AM
RALPH, YOU HAVE IT! Why on EARTH would you BLOW SMOKE about it? I don't like people telling honest people they cannot use something that they already have! You could JUST EMAIL your version to them and STFU..................

Qbasic is still available from Microsoft for FREE as it was originally!

QuickBasic was SOLD by M$ and is not legally to be used unless you purchased it. But basically, QB4.5 and 7.1 (PDS) are no longer sold and are abandonware as far as I am concerned.

M$ will not arrest you for downloading it, but they may hit the download sites!
ALWAYS virus scan any QB download to be safe!

What versions would you like? I have em all!

Ted



Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Ralph on October 23, 2008, 01:22:31 AM
Ted, and all who read my post.  I  apologize for printing wrong information!  I thought (and assumed it to be true) that QBasic AND QuickBASIC were both sold by Microsoft.  Again, I apologize and beg your pardon.


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Raj on October 23, 2008, 01:23:38 AM
Ralph / Ted

Thanks for your response. Actually the company had bought QuickBasic 4.5 long ago but we could not located the license. Maintenance of the program changed so many hands and wasn't used for very long time. We could try running the program using QBasic if it is possible. Is it possible to run using QBasic? Thanks.

Raj


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Raj on October 23, 2008, 01:26:00 AM
Ralph

QBasic is from MS. It is part of their DOS package. I downloaded it a while ago from their free software library location (link given below)

ftp://ftp.microsoft.com/softlib/

Raj


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: roy on October 23, 2008, 05:23:49 AM
If the company originally made the program in a legally obtained QB then your conscience is clear. As for M$ prosecuting you in these circumstances, the chances are nil. Will a  program run in QBasic that has been made in QB ? Answer 99% of the time yes.
PS
I am assuming that the program is in source code mode and not compiled.


Title: Re: QuickBasic 4.5 Licensing
Post by: Clippy on October 23, 2008, 02:57:42 PM
How to run Qbasic just like a compiled program:

1) Use a command line or batch file shortcut

2) Instead of using END or nothing at termination, use SYSTEM

SYSTEM returns you to the previous OS or DOS without going back to the Qbasic IDE (editor).

That keeps nebby people from messing with the code also!

Ted