Qbasicnews.com

QBasic => QB Discussion & Programming Help => Topic started by: BillP on October 19, 2006, 10:31:40 AM



Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: BillP on October 19, 2006, 10:31:40 AM
My new computer displays my old qbasic.exe program in a small window. Can't do anything with the right click of my mouse. When I go to properties to change the screen size of the qbasic.exe program it won't boot. Sure would like a bigger screen. How?


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: Anonymous on October 19, 2006, 10:57:11 AM
try holding alt, and hitting enter, while in the QB window =]


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: Skyler on October 19, 2006, 01:30:32 PM
ALT+Enter makes a DOS window fullscreen or windowed, depending on which you started with.
I.e., if your DOS box opens windowed, ALT+Enter makes it fullscreen.


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: Ralph on October 19, 2006, 06:47:36 PM
If you make a shortcut (do a right click on qb.exe, then choose shortcut), then right-click on the sortcut icon, click on Properties, select the Screen tab, and check the Full Screen checkbox, close.  You can drag the shortcut icon to your desktop or to a more convenient place.  Now, double clicking the shortcut opens QuickBASIC in the full screen mode.

I just did the above, and, lo and behold, I got the full-screen, 43-line blue, coding screen, in addition!


Title: screen size fixed. I used both the remedies Thank you
Post by: BillP on October 20, 2006, 05:49:52 PM
I used both the remedies Thank you


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: zoasterboy on October 25, 2006, 01:13:39 AM
actualy if your in a hurry and dont want to mess with properties on every new comp you will temporarily be using qb on, just type:

Code:
screen 12


and bam it pops to full screen and stays there till you exit.


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: Ralph on October 25, 2006, 01:28:35 AM
zoasterboy is quite right.  However, I get the 20-line, blue code screen.  For the 43-liner, I don't know of any other way than the one I described, right clicking on its icon, Properties, Screen, Full Screen, O.K.


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: nkk_kan on October 29, 2006, 09:04:45 AM
i think..someone should make a noob help section and properly listed newbie problems...what do u think?

this ques has been asked loads of times..


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: Ralph on October 29, 2006, 01:14:59 PM
nkk_kan:

That is a very good idea.  The only problem is that the person looking for his answer has a very hard time trying to ask his question in a way that will bring back the answer he is looking for.  

Even MrExcel, which has scores of posts daily, and has a SEARCH engine with various options, gives me a hard time. and I normally have to do twenty or more readings (out of, sometimes, thousands of replies), before I can get a usable answer.  If only we knew exactly what magical word or words will get our answer, it would be great.

So, the basic problem is, having a more than small database, how can we try to outguess the searcer as to all the probable ways in which he will phrase his question!  And, that is fairly difficult to do.

Case in point: Try to come up with the ten most probable words that would key the proper response to the original question posed by BillP, and post here.  Or, probably, in a new post.  Then, we will see how many others reply.  This should be enlightening to all who are interested in information retrieval.  Any takers?


Title: Screen size a problem!
Post by: nkk_kan on November 02, 2006, 12:30:04 PM
you got to ask the mods first