Qbasicnews.com

General => General/Misc => Topic started by: RADIUM-V Interactive on August 24, 2006, 09:32:15 PM



Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: RADIUM-V Interactive on August 24, 2006, 09:32:15 PM
Yeah, for payment for making the ByteSide computer (http://www.bytesidecomputer.com) website, I got a virus/spyware removal, memory upgrade, upgrade to System Pack 2, and a bunch of other stuff. She also set up our Earthlink TotalAccess disc - for dialup.

At the shop, it connected at 48kbps. Here, though, it connects at 26.4kbps.  I haven't changed any settings. Am I doing something wrong? I want it faster - the accelerator isn't enough!!


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: NecrosIhsan on August 25, 2006, 12:38:49 AM
Different physical locations? Lots of factors come into play...quality of phone line being the biggest.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 25, 2006, 02:28:12 AM
my phone lines are made of long candy canes and laced in chocolate. not very flexible.

now that was unexpected.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: RADIUM-V Interactive on August 25, 2006, 11:43:40 AM
So, first step is get a newer phone line?

I don't know where to get a candy cane line, I hear they're expensive, anyway. I'll go with metal and plastic - not as tasty, but more flexible.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Mr Match on August 25, 2006, 12:27:36 PM
I remember that when I had Dial-Up, my speed varied from 14.4kbps, to 56.8kbps! :-?

So don't worry if it's stuck at 26kbps for now, it may speed up (or slow down  :( ) in the near future.  :wink:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Rattrapmax6 on August 25, 2006, 02:04:52 PM
I think I got crummy phone lines, think about it... I lose connection in the rain? My dad is an electrician, but seems to refuse to want check out the lines, even though I insist something isn't stable there....

Also, like Nek said, depends on a boat load of factors.... -_- ....

And 26k isn't bad, half the time it's more stable....

PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Zack on August 25, 2006, 02:18:36 PM
The phone wires at the pole two houses down from me occasionally grounds and kills my connection for for a few minutes to a few hours. Usually happens on windy days - the phone company says it'll take a while to fix. :roll:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Anonymous on August 25, 2006, 03:35:30 PM
Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .

Quote from: "Rattrapmax6"
PS: Stay away from NetZero. . . .


sorry... had to =P


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Kevin_theprogrammer on August 25, 2006, 05:16:21 PM
Quote from: "Cha0s"
stuff

Isn't QFT that much easier?


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Torahteen on August 25, 2006, 11:35:02 PM
Hi, Im retarded!


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 26, 2006, 04:04:29 AM
Hey, me too!


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Anonymous on August 26, 2006, 09:19:21 AM
wahhh, never again!


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Zap on August 26, 2006, 10:16:35 AM
Dio&Torahteen: Be less bored, please?


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Anonymous on August 26, 2006, 11:44:16 AM
nice "artistic interpretation" there, Zap haha XD


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: RADIUM-V Interactive on August 26, 2006, 02:35:57 PM
Quote from: "Mr Match"
I remember that when I had Dial-Up, my speed varied from 14.4kbps, to 56.8kbps! :-?

So don't worry if it's stuck at 26kbps for now, it may speed up (or slow down  :( ) in the near future.  :wink:


Yeah, it's been sticking at exactly 26.4kbps - it's never been faster or slower (here)

We were considering Netzero, but Earthlink had *parental controls*  :crying: and my mom really liked the price


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Anonymous on August 26, 2006, 02:40:42 PM
Seriously, I can't stress this enough:

Avoid NetZero like the PLAGUE.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: BadMrBox on August 26, 2006, 05:33:53 PM
wtf is netzero?
I have dialup. I hate dialup. Hopefully I have broadband soon.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: NecrosIhsan on August 26, 2006, 10:56:52 PM
NetZero is a rather crappy cheap ISP that floods your brain with advertisements and goes down quicker than a five dollar hooker on toga night.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: BadMrBox on August 27, 2006, 12:22:01 AM
Thanks. That was a rather colorful explanation ;)


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 27, 2006, 03:21:55 AM
Quote from: "AN IMPOSTER"
Hey, me too!


when i read that i thought "hey i don't remember saying that!"

i feel violated! where are my rights? who are you? the chinese govenment?  :chinese:  :wink:
clearly i'm not interested (which is 99% of the time) so being the attention whore i am, i'll try to turn the topic to me.
 :bounce:  :bounce:  :bounce:  :bounce:  :bounce:  :barf:  :rotfl:  :zzz:  :barf:  :rotfl:  :wow:

 :shifty:  :lookright:  :lookleft:  :lookdown:  :wtnod2:  :wtnod2:  :aah:  :wow:  :^_^:  :cry:  :zzz:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Zap on August 27, 2006, 05:44:01 AM
You dont have any rights  :b

Quote from: "Forum Registration Agreement Terms"
You agree that the webmaster, administrator and moderators of this forum have the right to remove, edit, move or close any topic at any time should they see fit.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 27, 2006, 07:27:24 AM
still turning the limelight to me:

damn. that title under my name should be "Offical QBNF Attention Whore"
or does Z!re already hold that title.

































OH SNAP

dont touch this (http://www.holocaust-history.org/hungarian-photos/jpg/12-1142.jpg)

^^^PWNED^^^ lol[/color][/size]


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 28, 2006, 03:32:46 AM
COWARDS.


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Mr Match on August 28, 2006, 03:37:47 AM
:-?  :barf:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 28, 2006, 04:24:12 PM
after 700 posts, i'm getting really wacky  :ninja:  :pirate:  :nerd:  :humm:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Mr Match on August 28, 2006, 05:13:25 PM
We have a Pirate smiley!!11!1!1 Alright!  :pirate:  :pirate:  :pirate:  :pirate:  :pirate:  :pirate:  :pirate:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Anonymous on August 29, 2006, 06:34:32 AM
:ninja:  >  :pirate:

 :mrgreen:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Mr Match on August 29, 2006, 01:07:55 PM
:ninja: + ( :wink: + 8) ) =  :pirate:


 :lol:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: Dio on August 29, 2006, 07:04:54 PM
don't make me post pics of the holocaust again
 :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:


Title: Modem Speeds
Post by: anarky on August 30, 2006, 10:02:17 AM
Line noise plays havoc on analog connections such as dialup. Upgrading to broadband gets around the line noise, as the signal is digital and at a much higher frequency range (make sense?). This means the signal stands out easier over the lower frequency line noise.

My suggestion is to get ADSL or DSL or even cable or satellite. This would avoid it altogether.

EDIT 1 (Ammendment):
If getting DSL is not an option, see if you can't invest in a line noise filter to go right into the socket before the phone and modem...